Information about Spain

Some facts about Spain:

Spain became a democracy in 1975 when Franco’s dictatorship came to an end after he had been in power since the Spanish Civil War (1936 – 1939). In 1978 the government officially became a constitutional monarchy and in 1986 Spain entered the European Union.
The area of 505.990 km2 is divided into 17 autonomous regions, (Andalucía, Aragón, Principado de Asturias, Islas Baleares, Canarias, Cantabria, Castilla – La Mancha, Castilla y León, Cataluña, Comunidad Valenciana, Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Comunidad de Madrid, Región de Murcia, Comunidad Foral de Navarra, País Vasco) and the Comunidades Autónomas also called the enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla on the coast of North Africa. Each region has its own, directly elected parliament and government. The independent regional governments each have Central Autonomous Courts, the Tribunales Centrales Autonomicos. The seventeen Spanish regions include three historically independent regions; Catalonia, the Basque region and Galacia, each with its own language.
Centrally situated, Madrid is the capital city and the official language is Spanish. Juan Carlos I became the King of Spain at the 22 of november 1975 until 19 of june 2014, date of his abdication and date of acces to the head of the state of his son Felipe VI who is now the king of Spain.
Spain has an estimated 46 million inhabitants. It is worth noting that the Spanish population has increased by 2.5 million since 1999, of which 147,000 is a natural increase. This increase in growth has several causes such as the economic boom of 1998 – 2000 and the liberal immigration policy in 2000 and 2001. Currently there are more than 1.92 million foreigners living in Spain.
Main spanish cities and their population, 2016

  • Madrid (capital)    3.166 million
  • Barcelona             1.609 million
  • Valencia                  709.201
  • Alicante                   330.525
  • Seville                     690.565